View Full Version: EditRed

veinglory >>Publishers >>EditRed


<< Prev | Next >>

cupnjava- 06-24-2007
EditRed
I know I'm too much of a skeptic and I'm rather cynical. Something feels off to me when I read through this website, but I can't point to anything and I've not heard anything bad about them. Does anyone know anything about these guys? http://www.editred.com/ They're on my myspace flist and they're running some kind of short story con-*test*-('").

mychael_black- 06-24-2007

Hrm. Never heard of them. I looked over the site briefly, but I'm too distracted to pay much attention to anything today. LOL

veinglory- 06-24-2007

Well, it's free, apparently. But I doubt most of the claims on the front page.

mychael_black- 06-24-2007

That's one thing that puts me off, actually. The claims on the front read more like infomercial endorsements to me. *shrugs* But, then again, that's my opinion.

cupnjava- 06-24-2007

Yeah it has that informercial feel to it. That's it! Yes, you. YOU! The person who can barely put two words together and has no idea what a paragraph is. And YOU the gal can't figure out the real use of the caps lock key. YOU TOO can get published with this handy-dandy kitchen appliance. With the touch of a single button you can cut, paste, format and edit! Wow, Jim, that really was easy! Oh, it gets easier Sarah. With our Mad Libs style novel writing attachment, if you can list random objects, you can have a novel complete with your name on it. Sigh...they're probably legit as in not being scammers, but they...dunno...still feel off.

mychael_black- 06-24-2007

ROFL!

cupnjava- 06-24-2007

*takes bow* I aim to please.

Cranedance- 06-24-2007

Snirf. The Absolute Write Water Cooler had a thread about them in April. They're doing some weird stuff--like submitting con-*test*-('")-winning material to other venues (with the author's consent)--and the owner is a bit of a drama queen, subtype Defensive, but they seem to be legit. Not a great place to submit, but not a scam.

veinglory- 06-24-2007

I see mention there that they do have a paying teir of membership. So now the sales pitch makes a little more sense.

cupnjava- 06-24-2007

I see mention there that they do have a paying teir of membership. So now the sales pitch makes a little more sense. Ah now it does.

cupnjava- 06-24-2007

Snirf. The Absolute Write Water Cooler had a thread about them in April. They're doing some weird stuff--like submitting con-*test*-('")-winning material to other venues (with the author's consent)--and the owner is a bit of a drama queen, subtype Defensive, but they seem to be legit. Not a great place to submit, but not a scam. A rep from EditRED has posted on that thread. It seems they use the con-*test*-('")s to foster anthology pieces and they pay royalities on the anthologies as well as the con-*test*-('") money. Perhaps my warning bells are just from me being a super-skeptic and a bitter cynic.

Cranedance- 06-27-2007

Perhaps my warning bells are just from me being a super-skeptic and a bitter cynic. Their advertising is definitely badly done. I think that's what is setting everyone's alarm bells off. People on that thread noted their unease with the ads months ago, but EditRed hasn't changed it, which suggests a certain, err... lack of savvy on their part.

Forumer™ is Voted #1 Free Forum Hosting provider
Build your own community today with the largest message board hosting company.